Just getting started

So here I am, new to all of this.  It’s never been my style to write openly about all that I have been going through.  But, after careful thought and discussion with those close to me, I realized I could help others cope – like others are helping me.   It is never nice to feel alone.  When you are dealing with pain and illness, you start to feel isolated from all of the “normal” (and I use that term loosely, LOL) folks out there.  Those of you who are in the same boat as me will agree.

I was diagnosed with lupus a month after my 25th birthday.  After several years, I had much needed foot surgery – but the relief came with a price.  A price called RSD.  It started in my left foot, then spread up my left leg.  While receiving treatment for the leg, I had a bad I.V. in my left hand which started it up my left arm.  There have been days when the left side of my face and head hurt SO badly, I could barely wash my face or brush my hair.

In the meantime, my longtime back pain kicked up a notch.  As if I needed that.  Several x-rays and MRI’s later, I was diagnosed with congenital spondylolisthesis and spondylolysis.  I was told that I would have to consider getting that repaired.   A year later, I was asked to choose between walking and getting it fixed – obviously I chose walking.

That surgery was in March, just 9 months ago.  Initially, I did better than expected.  Then in May, everything  went wrong.  I began having nerve pain shooting from my hips to my feet.  The lower back pain was back and worse than ever.  The MRI report showed something we were hoping was a maybe.  Arachnoiditis.  Not good.  Not good at all.

So that’s me, in a weirdly short nutshell.  Of only my medical records could be this condensed.

I’m doing this blog to help myself.  And maybe to let someone out in computer land know that they are not alone.

Have a painfree hour or two,

PITB

Leave a Reply

