J – E – T – S! Jets! Jets! Jets!

Ah, sad day. Alas, as I write this, I am painfully aware that our beloved Jets will not be going to the Super Bowl this year. We wore more green yesterday than on St. Patrick’s day. Even dessert, green sprinkles on vanilla-frosted cookies, was Jets-ified.

It MUST be said that they did not go down without a fight. In fact, the first half of the game was mostly theirs. For a team led by a “rookie” coach and a “rookie” QB, they played like seasoned pros. I think Jets fans can be really proud. Although it took some coaxing for our  little fan to get that, she understood how well they played and how they will try even harder next season.

How, you might ask, did my daughter come to be a Jets fan? Well, it all started a few years back, when Uncle Scott came into her life.

My sister Nancy and Scott, her husband, married a few years ago.  Prior to their wedding (and after), my brother-in-law would visit on Sundays and watch whichever football games might be on, but the Jets were his team. (ARE his team)! Anyway my daughter decided that those Sundays were all about watching the Jets with her uncle. These were the days when just my daughter & I would visit my mom. My husband was catching up on client work, or homework since he was in school at the time. She was only 6 and chanting, “J-E-T-S! Jets! Jets! Jets!” It was adorable.

At first, I thought it was something fun for her to do, I didn’t think she was really paying attention. But when she was talking about Chad Pennington, the QB back then, I realized she was learning about the game and the players. One day, a regulation Jets jersey bearing the name of Pennington showed up for her and she was hooked.

In fact, whether the Jets have played well & won or if they lost, she often says, “I have to call Nancy and Scott about that.”  Even if she forgets to make the call, it always makes my husband & I laugh to hear her talk like a much older fan.  We will never forget the night that we found a  game on t.v., it wasn’t even the Jets playing, and she said, “Hey, let’s leave the game on.” Then she proceeded to shout at the t.v. for the rest of the game.  It was hilarious, especially since she was only 6 or 7  at the time.

Anyway, though we are feeling the sting of defeat now, I know that there is always next season.  Even my husband, who grew up rooting for the NY Giants, found it easy to support the Jets this year.

My daughter wore her jersey all of yesterday AND to school today.  Apparently, some of the kids asked her why she wore it since the Jets lost.  She said, “Mom, I looked at them and said I’m being good sportsmanship.”  All I could think was, if only we could all “be good sportsmanship” about everything.

Hey, there’s always next year.

Peace and painlessness,

PITB

Leave a Reply

