Marbelloo

Hello friends.

Welcome to painintheBECK. It’s been a very long time since I published anything and I’m glad to be back.

So much has happened, as in every life. Some good, some bad. I am blessed with a close-knit, extremely supportive family and I thank God for them every day.

At this point, you’re probably wondering, “who is Marbelloo?” Well, it’s not a who, it’s a what. Marbelloo is my trusty cane.

I’ve gone through a few canes in the years since I started needing one. The basic silver-colored/candy came shape one that the hospital gave me upon discharge. Then, as the bits and parts of that one started to show wear & tear, I got a black cane with a foam handle that offered my hand some relief. Somehow, I felt this cane looked better. I don’t know why.

My daughter’s friends told me to bedazzle it, wrap it in funky paper or tape, even personalize it on each holiday. Trust me, I was thinking about it – in a lighthearted way of course.

It was about a year ago, that I realized that I needed to make this extension of my arm look more, well… like me. And it was around the same time that the part of the cane that tightened the upper & lower pieces refused to tighten anymore. It clacked and squeaked every time I walked. I’d tighten it and the sound would stop, for about 5 minutes. And then “clack, squeak. Clack squeak.” It drove me nuts!

So I went out in search of a cane that showed more personality. There, in Rite Aid, I saw a cane with a blue (my favorite color) marble pattern. It had the supportive foam handle and ergonomic shape that all of these manufacturers swear by. I bought it.

And then Marbelloo was born, or named. She’s kept me standing when I’ve slipped in the snow, (multiple times this winter), she’s allowed me to walk farther. Most importantly, she’s given me a visual sign of the disease that I carry around every day. That’s incredibly important since you cannot see RSD, or CRPS as it is known these days.

When people see me, a seemingly healthy person, using a cane they either look & move on with their life or they stare. That’s my favorite . Not. I can’t control them staring at me like the cane is just a cool prop to get a seat. I can control my reaction. I can keep my head up, hang on tight to Marbelloo and take on the world.

I think that’s exactly what I’m going to do.

Peace and painlessness,
Beck

20140224-130958.jpg

Leave a Reply

