Happy New Year! Almost.

image

Here we are, days away from a brand new year! The last twelve months have been a busy blur, at least it seems that way to me now. I am actually looking forward to 2016 – shocker! For those of you who know me, you’ll be aware of my extreme dislike of New Year’s Eve. There’s always been something sad and final about the last minutes of the old year, the singing of “Auld Lang Syne,” etc., even as we celebrate. I still dislike it on the whole. But I am determined to make this year better than the rest!

Here’s why:
(1) I’ve volunteered to write for the RSDSA’s website. They sent an open call for submissions as guest writers and I finally decided that I’m ready. Years ago, I had an opportunity to write a piece about RSD for a prominent nursing journal. When it came down to it, I wasn’t emotionally ready. I didn’t have the distance I believe I have now. Back then, I was freshly diagnosed and far too raw from all of the pain I was in. Now, I actually look forward to sharing this odd experience with others.

(2) I have been asked to costume a professional dance company! Insane as that is most assuredly going to be, I am excited! It’s a huge honor to be asked and trusted with something so very important. SO! That’s that.

(3) I’ve started blogging again! It may not seem like much but it’s something to look forward to.

Some issues I’ve been dealing with, over the last few months are troublesome.
Mainly my hands. Typing this is incredibly painful, but it’s easier than handwriting.
This is what my right hand looked like a few days ago:

 

 

Awful and terribly painful.  Here’s what both hands look like today:

Not as bad but so sore! I cannot remember having this much pain in my hands.

Anyway. I am hoping to have an answer about my hands in the next few weeks. My new pain management doctor is amazing. He’s concerned that there may be something autoimmune in all of this. So back to the rheumatologist I go. Hopefully, the old lupus is not back. Or even something worse! I guess it’s best not to dwell on negative thoughts too much. They certainly won’t help me.

Either way, I’ll blog about it. And by the way, I have to say that at my first appointment with my new doctor, I mentioned that using my PTM (pump remote) was sometimes difficult. His response? He went into his office, after saying “I might have something to help you….” and returned with the best little gadget!

image.jpeg

The odd-looking thing on the left is what I place on my abdomen.  It “speaks” to my Medtronic pump and enables me to administer a bolus of medication.  This way, I can easily see the screen and instantly confirm that the dose was given.  It’s amazing!  Before, if I lifted the remote even slightly or wasn’t sure that it beeped (meaning that it worked), I’d be locked out for hours before being able to give another dose.  Very annoying.  Anyway, the good doctor gave me this cool extension and now I know my dose was administered.  

Well, that’s all for the moment.  I wish each of you the happiest of Happy New Year’s.   Cheers to the fast-approaching future!

Peace & Painlessness,

Becky

 

 

Leave a Reply

