A truly interesting week…..

It’s not often that I can say that I had two doctors appointments and an earthquake, all in one week. But that’s what happened.

Wednesday was hectic. I had my pain management doc at 2 pm, my neurologist at 4 pm, and it was pouring rain all day long. When I say that I spent the better part of the day soaked, I am not kidding. There are certain days in NYC when an umbrella is simply a waste of time because the combination of the rain and wind whipping up from the East river makes it a joke to even attempt coverage. I tried – and failed – to stay as dry as possible. I didn’t want to drip all over either medical practice. Oh well.

Anyway, I blew in like a wet leaf to appointment #1 and had a good visit with my pain management doctor. We both think the right sacroiliac injection was a success. But now we think I need to have one on the left side. He said my lower back muscles are extremely tight. He wants me to keep working to stretch those muscles out, since that tightness is contributing greatly to the amount of pain I’m in. So, injection #2 is in motion. I’ll keep you posted.

Appointment #2 and – by that point – my coat could have been rung out like a dish towel. My neurologist is a really good guy who listens and believes me. And that is a magical unicorn in medicine, as any one of us chronically managing folks can tell you. His office fit me in because of the dizzy spells I’ve been having. After I explained them, he said, “I’ll start by saying that I don’t think we need to be worried….” I can’t tell you how good that made me feel. He still wants me to have the MRI done, because of my stroke history. And the migraines. He said it could also be a delayed response from my brain after the tree incident. Like, if I did have a concussion but didn’t necessarily show traditional signs of one at the time. It was humiliating having to tell him that I slammed into a tree. Ugh. Anyway, the spells can also be migraine related or even even a perimenopausal thing. Who knew? Aging is SO much fun. 🤦🏻‍♀️🙄

Honestly, whatever comes of the MRI, I know I’m in good hands. He wants me to have the results sent to him and we’ll talk again afterwards.

But, on Friday morning, I was sitting in the apartment and suddenly, everything started moving and rattling. I’ll be honest, I thought I was having another stroke or some kind of medical emergency. I immediately went to call out for my husband and our daughter. But then I remembered that I was home alone. It was the sound of the bookcases moving behind me that made me realize that what was happening was external. I froze where I was. Once it all stopped, I heard my neighbors in the main hallway. That’s what prompted me to unfreeze and text my family. Everyone was shaken up (literally) because we don’t have events like this in the tri-state area often. The last one was in 2011, I think. Back then, I grabbed my gal and tried to reassure her of the strength of our old apartment. Friday’s was highly dramatic because it was a 4.8 magnitude and we’re just not used to earthquakes here. I commend the strength and courage of the people who live in earthquake/tornado/tsunami/volcano zones. I couldn’t do it without being constantly afraid. Naturally, it occupied the conversations of everyone around here for the rest of the day.

So that was that. I’m relieved going into the MRI, no matter what it shows. I’d be panicking until the 22nd otherwise. And I don’t need that stress.

Here’s to getting reassurances from trusted allies. Here’s to procedures that actually work. And here’s to all of you, coming along for the ride. Thank you!

Peace and painlessness,

Beck ❤️

#thisiswhatsicklookslike #strokesurvivor #rsd #crps #arachnoiditis #autoimmune #migraine #sacroiliacjoint #facetjoint #backpain #medicalmarijuana #carpaltunnelsyndrome #cubitaltunnelsyndrome #patientadvocacy #painintheBECK #phantosmia #dextroscoliosis #thoracickyphosis#lumbarlordosis #meralgiaparesthetica #herestohope #gratefulalways

Leave a comment